How to Apply for Local 49’s Scholarship Guidelines and Information

  1. DEADLINE: The deadline for all applications – must be received in Local 49’s Main Office postmarked by May 1st (each year).
  2. ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS: A list of eligibility requirements is included with the Scholarship Application. A main requirement is that someone in the family is a member of Local 49 and they must be in good standing. In the event a member dies or takes a death benefit withdrawal during the current year in which applications are being considered, an applicant’s Scholarship packet will be given the same consideration as all others providing the member was in good standing at the time of death or at the time that the death benefit withdrawal was taken.
  3. WHO CAN APPLY? Anyone who meets the eligibility requirements above is encouraged to apply. Local 49 members can also apply for a scholarship for themselves, their spouses, or grandchildren (providing the grandchild is a dependent of the member). The son or daughter of a member includes if the member is a stepparent.
  4. WHEN TO APPLY Any time between SEPTEMBER 1st through MAY 1st. If the application and all necessary documents that are required to be included are NOT COMPLETE, the Scholarship Committee will not consider the application.


Before printing out the application, please view and print the two supporting documents as part of the scholarship packet below:

Requirements to Apply 

Letter to Applicants

Click here to print the scholarship application. 

The deadline for all applications – must be received in Local 49’s Main Office postmarked by May 1st (each year).

Please mail all applications to:

IUOE Local No. 49

Attn: Scholarships

2829 Anthony Lane South

Minneapolis, MN 55418-3269


Fax your application to IUOE Local 49, Attn: Scholarships at 612-788-1936

Any questions please contact:


In order for the application to be considered by the Scholarship Committee, requests for applications in any given year should be received no later than April 15th, after this date written requests can be submitted any time after September 1st of the current year in order to apply for next year’s grant. Applicant’s are encouraged to reapply if not chosen, and should indicate they are reapplying in their written request.